BCI Competency Framework

BCI Competency Framework

Source: www.thebci.org

The Business Continuity Institute (BCI) Competency Framework provides a set of professional standards that are essential for those responsible for business continuity and resilience to be effective in their roles. It provides a tool to help individuals to advance their professional development and organisations to develop resilience capability through better workforce planning and development. The framework may be used as a self-assessment tools to rate one’s level of proficiency (Foundational, Comprehensive and Advanced) against 12 areas of competencies in 2 broad groups. These are:

Leadership and management

  • Leadership
  • Working with others
  • Thinking and innovating
  • The organisational environment
  • The business continuity environment

Professional practice

  • Policy and program management
  • Embedding
  • Analysis
  • Design
  • Implementation
  • Validation

All the above are underpinned by Ethics and Values.

The competency framework is a companion to the BCI Good Practice Guidelines (GPG). The GPG describes how the business continuity management (BCM) lifecycle should be implemented, whereas the competency framework focuses on the knowledge and skills required by those undertaking business continuity and resilience roles. More information on the competency framework and GPG is available at www.thebci.org

To develop your knowledge and competency in business continuity, attend the Certificate of the BCI (CBCI) training course and examination. This course covers the GPG and will equip you with contemporary BCM knowledge that is aligned with AS ISO 22301 and a strong understanding of how to implement an effective and successful BCM program.

Riskwest is a BCI Training Partner and will be conducting the next live online CBCI training course on 3 – 6 May 2021. More information is available at www.riskwest.com.au/training